“I love you, Baby. I’m not going to stop. I care for you more deeply each day, not less. You are what makes me smile. Whatever it is you need right now . . . I’m here and will be when you are done and come back to me.” That was the note she left knowing he would be gone when she returned. This was something he had to do that she was not a part of. They loved each other and physical separation was not going to change that.

His call later in the day to say, “I love you too, Sweetie. I’m getting ready to roll in a few minutes. I don’t know how long I’ll be. Just know I love you and will be thinking of you.”

She dallied making her way home that evening. She felt no desire to rush. He wouldn’t be there. Upon her arrival, she stood, staring at the empty space the truck usually occupied. She’d told him she would keep it, but now she was glad it was gone. This way it felt more like he had simply run out for some smokes, to grab a latte or pick up dinner. He wasn’t really gone, just had a little something to do and would be right back. She braved a sad, tentative smile and slowly walked inside.

