I’ve been having trouble of late finding my words.  However, there are the words of a song that keeps playing in my mind.  Perhaps it is simply my fear here at a new beginning.  Perhaps its one of those cosmic messages I’m meant to learn from.  Perhaps it is a reflection from my past.  Perhaps it just got stuck on repeat in my head the way lyrics sometimes do.  Regardless, today a song I never really listened to before demanded my attention.
 
 
Love hurts, love scars,
Love wounds and marks,
Any heart not tough,
Or strong enough
To take a lot of pain,
Take a lot of pain
Love is like a cloud
Holds a lot of rain
 
I’m young, I know,
But even so
I know a thing or two
I learned from you
I really learned a lot,
Really learned a lot
Love is like a flame
It burns you when its hot
Love hurts, ooh ooh love hurts
 
Some fools think of happiness,
Blissfulness, togetherness
Some fools fool themselves I guess
They’re not foolin’ me
 
I know it isn’t true,
I know it isn’t true
Love is just a lie,
Made to make you blue
Love hurts, ooh ooh love hurts
Ooh,ooh love hurts
 
I know it isn’t true,
I know it isn’t true
Love is just a lie,
Made to make you blue
Love hurts, ooh ooh love hurts
Ooh ooh love hurts
Ooh ooh…
 
   
These lyrics could have been an anthem for me most of my life . . . my entire life, not just in the romantic sense, but in all the ways and of all the things that I have ever truly loved.  Still, I’ve been on a quest of self-discovery or better said re-discovery this past year.  I had been hurt badly enough to have withdrawn from the world to shelter my wounded heart, but it would seem just maybe there is hope still of putting those things past to rest and learning all over how to love again.  I hope so. 


 

