Where do they come from?  My words.  Sometimes I look back at a thing I wrote and I think, “That came out of me?  How?”  Is there some higher power that sometimes speaks through me, to me?  It seems that there, in fact, is.  A perfect example is the tag line on this blog . . .
 
Lost I may yet reach my goal . . .
Without finding all that I seek . . .
I may still be made whole.
 
I have no idea where that came from.  When I setup the blog, I was happy with “Carpe Diem, Baby” as the tag line.  It is a song and I like the poetry of the lyrics.  I also love the translation . . . Seize the Day, Babe!  It worked for me.  I wasn’t looking to change it.  I was satisfied with it.
 
Lost I may yet reach my goal . . .
Without finding all that I seek . . .
I may still be made whole.
 
This my defiant response to my cosmic error message was not a thing I thought to write.  It is rather a thing that (as sometimes happens) appeared magically on the screen before me.  It was an afterthought in another post.  It came out seamlessly and without need of any edit or revision.
 
Lost I may yet reach my goal . . .
Without finding all that I seek . . .
I may still be made whole.
 
The words popped onto the screen and I almost deleted them.  These three lines didn’t fit the style in the rest of the post.  Geez, they rhythm!  Still, those lines somehow provided me closure for both the post and certain nagging questions that endlessly follow me . . . my little demons of self-doubt.
 
Lost I may yet reach my goal . . .
Without finding all that I seek . . .
I may still be made whole.
 
These words more an acceptance than an epiphany, I believe I knew them to be true always.  I just lost contact with that as I was swept away on the quest for what I thought I needed.  I feel the message to myself in these words.  I feel the validation of my life and my pursuits.
 
Lost I may yet reach my goal . . .
Without finding all that I seek . . .
I may still be made whole.
 
I had just changed this site to make it more my own and somehow these words kept calling to me.  They were nagging me.  They screamed to be seen.  They needed to have a permanent place on the site and the tag line was it.  This is my declaration to the universe.  My assertion of what is right for me.
 
Lost I may yet reach my goal . . .
Without finding all that I seek . . .
I may still be made whole.
 
I need not follow any given path.  I find so much more meaning when I wander.  I seek, yes, but it is in the search that I grow, not the finding.  These three lines perhaps more than anything else written here define me.  These three lines perhaps more than anything else are who I am.
 
Lost I may yet reach my goal . . .
Without finding all that I seek . . .
I may still be made whole. 

