I reach out. Is anyone there? 

From the cage of my own making
I ventured cautiously back into humanity 

Anxiously decomposing bits of the mask
Well used conforming to the social mores 

Long hidden the essence of my true being
Now clamoring for some path to expression 

I reach out. Is anyone there? 

From a place hidden deep within
There was a rustling, an awakening in me 

Fearfully stepping back into the world
That first venture tentative and uneasy 

Long and dark my absence from life
My choice before to remain in hiding 

I reach out. Is anyone there? 

From my soul there comes a whisper
The uncertain query of one disconnected 

Hesitantly calling to someone, anyone
Testing, probing, seeking some response 

Long the wait for this vital change
Connection needed for its validation

I reach out. Is anyone there? 

From head, from heart, from hopelessness
There comes my anguished cry of hurting 

Sorrowfully reaching out for reassurance
Some comfort sought to soothe my torment 

Long this pain has festered and bled
I seek to heal my wound, my broken heart 

I reach out. Is anyone there? 

