She was the joy in my heart and the happiness that made me whole.  I don’t know why she came to me only to leave too soon.  I just know my life would not have been complete without having had her in it.  I learned from her that the moment is all we have, so each must be lived and cherished before it is lost. 

She was a beautiful child.  She was the incarnation of the very image I carried with me for all the months I waited for her.  She could have been the wonder that saved me.  For a devastatingly brief time, she was all that made my life worth living.  She was born less than perfect and the prognosis was she had no chance. 

Her medical problems required constant care.  There were endless doctors visits and major surgeries just to maintain her precarious hold on life.  Working, for me, was not an option.  She was a full-time job.  We struggled to survive.  Still each day I shared with her brought me such delight as has never been replaced.

When a tiny, little person made wise beyond her years by her own suffering tells you how proud she is of you . . . it is worth everything!  Every macaroni and cheese dinner out of a box, every trip to the thrift store to find clothes, every night spent by candlelight because you had no power, all fade into insignificance. 

Two weeks later she was gone.  I thought for a while I would die of a broken heart.  It doesn’t work that way though.  You endure the hurt forever.  But our memory now and again fails us.  Today I almost forgot this is the day she passed from me.  Providence though sent me a reminder such to assure I did not miss it.

Please do not mistake my crying as sorrow.  These are a different kind of tears I shed now.  This is the bliss of my remembrances.  On this day I look into that place in my heart that I so rarely go anymore and I learn the lesson once again.  The moment is all we have, so each must be lived and cherished before it is lost. 

