My bed is broken, not all the time, but it doesn’t take much anymore to knock the slates out and have the whole thing go crashing down.  Of course this happens at all the most interesting moments in my bed.  I have tried to re-enforce it by adding more supports, but it doesn’t seem to have fixed the problem, just forestall the inevitable crashes.  I’m sure I can fix my bed.  I think, all I probably have to do is . . . strip my bed down bare . . . remove the parts of my bed checking each for damage  . . . examine the framework of my bed and determine how it is assembled . . . devise a plan to address any defects in my bed . . . locate the proper tools and materials to make the adjustments needed in my bed . . . effect the desired changes and reassemble my bed with special care in assuring the repairs are holding . . . jump back into bed! 

WOW!  I have had an epiphany!  My bed is a metaphor for my life.  Let’s try this again . . . 

My life is broken, not all the time, but it doesn’t take much anymore to knock the slates out and have the whole thing go crashing down.  Of course this happens at all the most interesting moments in my life.  I have tried to re-enforce it by adding more supports, but it doesn’t seem to have fixed the problem, just forestall the inevitable crashes.  I’m sure I can fix my life.  I think, all I probably have to do is . . . strip my life down bare . . . remove the parts of my life checking each for damage  . . . examine the framework of my life and determine how it is assembled . . . devise a plan to address any defects in my life . . . locate the proper tools and materials to make the adjustments needed in my life . . . effect the desired changes and reassemble my life with special care in assuring the repairs are holding . . . jump back into life! 

The question I guess I really have to ask myself now is . . . If its so damn easy to fix, why is my bed still broken? 

