There’s a man in my bed.  He’s not the one I want, but somehow he’s there.  Oh, he’s a nice enough guy to be fair.  He’s handsome and articulate.  He does make me laugh.   He works hard and he has a good job .  He’s an enjoyable lover.  When I add it all up, he’s a catch. 

There’s a man in my bed.  He’s not the one I want, but somehow he’s there.  He doesn’t make my heart pound and my blood race.  I don’t get butterflies just thinking of him.  He’s not one that will consume my every waking thought.  When I add it all up, he is safe. 

There’s a man in my bed.  He’s not the one I want, but somehow he’s there.  I know you don’t want me, so why are you still in my head and my heart.  Its not as if there aren’t plenty of others that would be happy to have me, if only for a while.  When I add it all up, none are you. 

There’s a man in my bed.  He’s not the one I want, but somehow he’s there.  I keep looking, hoping, praying there will someday be one that makes me forget you. There must be because you and I have no possible future together. Sad, but true.  When I add it all up, I miss you. 

There’s a man in my bed.  He’s not the one I want, but somehow he’s there.  I confess he’ll be replaced by some other in a day or two.  The new one will be attractive, funny, intelligent, hard working, and a passable lover, but he won’t last. When I add it all up, I’m still lonely.    

